Life Insurance Eligibility


Multiple types of VA life insurance policies are available to veterans based on the veteran’s specific medical conditions or participation in certain branches of the armed forces. Veterans’ life insurance eligibility requirements are different for each policy type, so interested veterans will need to verify their qualifications. For instance, the disabled veterans life insurance eligibility guidelines will have medical requirements, while other VA life insurance policies may only require membership or veteran status within the armed forces. Veterans should carefully look over each of the insurance plans to find one that best suits their military history and provides them with the necessary medical coverage. Learn more about veterans’ life insurance eligibility by reviewing the following topics:

  • Servicemembers Group Life Insurance eligibility
  • Veterans Group Life Insurance eligibility
  • Veterans’ Mortgage Life Insurance eligibility
  • Traumatic Injury Protection Program eligibility

Servicemembers Group Life Insurance Eligibility

Servicemembers Group Life Insurance eligibility is a very straightforward program available for any active duty military members. SGLI eligibility is automatic for active duty members of the Army, Navy, Marines, Coast Guard and Air Force. Others who meet the SGLI eligibility requirements include commissioned members of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and United States Public Health Service. Servicemembers Group Life Insurance eligibility also applies to cadets or midshipmen who are currently in the Reserves or training in military academies. Veterans with disabilities who are deemed unable to work are able to apply for an SGLI disability extension.

Military members who meet SGLI eligibility requirements are automatically enrolled into the program. It is possible to turn down SGLI in order to apply for other types of insurance programs that offer different coverage. Anyone who wants to designate beneficiaries will have to complete a separate SGLI form.

Veterans Group Life Insurance Eligibility

Veterans Group Life Insurance eligibility begins the moment that the applicant is no longer serving in the armed forces. VGLI eligibility applies to all branches of the armed forces, as well as the Ready Reserves and the National Guard. Service members must prove VGLI eligibility within one year and 120 days from discharge to switch over to VGLI coverage. Veterans Group Life Insurance eligibility is also extended to applicants on the Temporary Disability Retirement List.

Alternatives to VGLI eligibility are available for applicants who had part-time SGLI coverage. An applicant is eligible to apply for VGLI coverage if he or she received an injury or disability while on part-time SGLI coverage. To meet this VGLI eligibility requirement, the applicant must be able to show that he or she was unable to get insurance from another source.

Veterans’ Mortgage Life Insurance Eligibility

Veterans’ Mortgage Life Insurance eligibility is available to veterans who are experiencing difficulty paying for their mortgage and to families of a veteran who has passed away. Since VMLI eligibility requirements are so specific, there are only a few qualifications. Unlike other VA life insurance policies, VMLI requires the veteran to receive an adapted housing grant specifically in order to help with building, remodeling or purchasing a home. The veteran must also have an active mortgage and the home’s official title or deed. The last VMLI eligibility requirement simply states that the veteran has to apply for VMLI coverage sometime before turning 70 years of age. The most important difference to note between the VMLI eligibility guidelines and those of the other insurance plans is that the applicant must meet all of the eligibility requirements, while most other insurance plans have a general list of possible eligibility requirements.

Traumatic Injury Protection Program Eligibility

Part of the Servicemembers Group Life Insurance eligibility program, Traumatic Injury Protection (TSGLI) is another one of the VA life insurance policies that provides automatic coverage to service members who were severely injured. TSGLI eligibility is very specific, as the purpose of coverage is to provide medical assistance to any veterans or active military members who receive a traumatic injury while serving. While the program is primarily associated with injuries incurred during combat, TSGLI eligibility requirements do not state that the injury must have occurred from active combat.

One of the first TSGLI eligibility requirements is that the applicant must have had SGLI coverage when he or she received the injury. The injury must also be severe enough to cause a scheduled loss, such as loss of sight or loss of a limb. The scheduled loss must occur no more than two years after the initial injury. TSGLI eligibility requirements also state that the applicant must have suffered the injury before midnight of the last day that he or she was actively serving. However, there is an exception with this TSGLI eligibility requirement. Any veteran who suffered a severe injury between October 7, 2001 and November 30, 2005, will always be eligible for TSGLI coverage. In this specific situation, it does not matter if the veteran did not have SGLI coverage when he or she became injured.